Killer Unicorns

Forget everything you ever thought you knew about unicorns...

The fluffy sparkly friendly “horses” so popular with six year old girls the world over are a travesty of revisionist history. Real unicorns are man eating beasts with razor sharp fangs and a fatal venom in their lethal horns. And they can only be killed by the virgin descendants of Alexander the Great.


Rampant Jacket

Forget everything you ever knew about unicorns… The sparkly, innocent creatures of lore are a myth. Real unicorns are venomous, man-eating monsters with huge fangs and razor-sharp horns. And they can only be killed by virgin descendants of Alexander the Great.

Fortunately, unicorns have been extinct for a hundred and fifty years.

Or not.

Astrid Llewelyn has always scoffed ather eccentric mother’s stories about killer unicorns. But when one of the monsters attacks her boyfriend in the woods – thereby ruining any chance of him taking her to prom – Astrid learns that unicorns are real and dangerous, and she has a family legacy to uphold. Her mother packs her off to Rome to train as a unicorn hunter at the ancient cloisters the hunters have used for centuries.

However, at the cloisters, all is not what is seems. Outside, the unicorns wait to attack. And within, Astrid faces other, unexpected threats: from crumbling, bone-covered walls that vibrate with a terrible power to the hidden agendas of her fellow hunters to – perhaps most dangerously of all – her growing attraction to a handsome art student… and a relationship that could jeopardize everything.

Buy Now

sony amazon ibooks indiebound kobo bn




Astrid Llewelyn is now a fully-trained unicorn hunter, but she’s learning she can’t solve all her problems with just a bow and arrow. Her boyfriend Giovanni has decided to leave Rome, the Cloisters is in dire financial straits, her best friend’s powers seem to be mysteriously disintegrating, and Astrid fears that school, home, and her hopes of becoming a scientist are nothing but impossible dreams.

So when she’s given the opportunity to leave the Cloisters and put her skills to use as part of a scientific quest to discover The Remedy, Astrid leaps at the chance. Finally, she can have exactly what she wants…or can she? At the Gordian Pharmaceuticals headquarters deep in the French countryside, Astrid begins to question everything she thought she believed: her love for Giovanni, her loyalty to the Cloisters, and – most of all – her duty as a hunter. Should Astrid be saving the world from killer unicorns, or saving the unicorns from the world?

Buy Now

sony amazon ibooks indiebound bn kobo

Frequently Asked Questions

What order should I read the Killer Unicorn Books in?
With the full-length books, read Rampant first, then Ascendant. They both follow the story of Astrid Llewelyn, a 21st century unicorn hunter.

Do I need to have read the full-length books to understand the anthology short stories?
All the unicorn stories stand alone, and you can read them in any order you desire. Readers of the full length novels will probably get a little extra out of the stories, as they may recognize familiar characters or locations, but it is not necessary. They were not written or published in chronological order, either, but if you’re really curious, the chronological order of short stories and series goes:

  1. “Hammer of Artemis” (Renaissance Rome)
  2. “Errant” (18th Century France)
  3. “The Last of the Unicorn Hunters” (19th century Europe)
  4. Rampant (21st century America and Europe)
  5. Ascendant (21st century Europe)
  6. “The Care and Feeding of Your Baby Killer Unicorn” and “On a Field, Sable” take place during the events of Ascendant and feature characters who appear in those books.

Are you going to write any more unicorn books or stories?
I hope to start work on Triumphant, the conclusion of Astrid’s story, very soon. Additionally, “The Last of the Unicorn Hunters”, a story that takes place soon after the final battle between Clothilde and Bucephalus, will be out this August in an anthology called When the Hero Comes Home, vol. 2 (Dragon Moon Press).

I don’t live in North America. How can I get my hands on these stories?
To get a English language, U.S.-published copy of the books or short stories, check out the Book Depository, which offers free international shipping. Additionally, Rampant is available in Indonesia (Grasindo) and Rampant and Ascendant will soon be published by Editoria Record in Brazil. Short stories: Kiss Me Deadly (“Errant”) is available in the UK and Australia, and English language versions of the “Errant” ebook is available on all international Kindle sites. Zombies vs. Unicorns (“The Care and Feeding of Your Baby Killer Unicorn”) is also available in France and Brazil.